Before Mars by Emma Newman Review

Visit a Mars colony set up for both scientific research and a reality show in Emma Newman's Before Mars

Snowflake Flash Fiction for Winter

Experimenting with flash

G. L. Carriger’s The 5th Gender is a Genre-Smashing Good Time

The 5th Gender - a cozy mystery science fiction and queer romantic comedy with a healthy dose of social commentary
RpLy4JjoSyKfBxEgR4veWS-650-80.jpg

The Shifter With a Prize Inside

An unusual deep sea find

Hexarchate Scribe: An Introduction to Yoon Ha Lee’s Fiction

A collection of short stories from the author of NInefox Gambit

Blogging Fun

Why do authors blog when they're already doing all of that writing?

Hangman’s Gate author RS Ford on the Grimdark myth

I think the definition of Grimdark has shifted in the last few years; I’ve always thought of Grimdark as absurdly over-the-top darkness, grim darkness so grim and dark it becomes humorous

The Infinite Noise: Interview with Lauren Shippen

An interview with the author of a story about internal superpowers - based on a Podcast series!

Best New Science Fiction Books

Check out this month's new SF releases

Giveaway: The Future of Another Timeline by Annalee Newitz

Enter now to win a copy of Annalee Newitz's latest The Future of Another Timeline

A Carnival of One’s Own

E. Catherine Tobler, author of the up-coming The Grand Tour reveals where her love of carnivals has its origins

Myths & More: The Mythic Dream, edited by Navah Wolfe and...

New myths and old, a new anthology explores both

Writing Through Tough Times

An author's advice on writing, even through the hard times.

Gideon The Ninth author Tamsyn Muir on our love of swords

An interview wqith Tamsyn Muir on her latest release - Gideon the Ninth

Take A Pinch of This Genre and A Spoonful of That...

Is it science fiction romance with adventure.  Or maybe it's space opera with space marines and romantic elements.

The BlackSci-Fi.com Online Campaign Corner/ NIOBE: She is Death & THE...

Crowd funding support for black science fiction

Octavia Butler’s Parable Series To Get Reissue

We all need to pay more attention to Octavia Butler. Here's your chance.

Christopher Hinz cover reveals: Starship Alchemon and Duchamp Versus Einstein

An excerpt from Starship Alchemon, by Christopher Hinz

On the Importance of Having Your Book Translated (Not Your Mind-Set)

When writing for translation - let your identity and cultural background take the lead

FOR WRITERS: Share Your FB Page

Here's one easy way to build your audience

Binti & The Wonders of Nnedi Okorafor

This month's Den of Geek Book Club pick is Binti, the first installment in a novella series about a young African woman, the eponymous Binti, who leaves her home on Earth for the first time to attend an intergalactic university on another planet. (Yes, Binti is a total badass.)

Win a copy of A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine...

An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine’s first novel in the Texicalaan trilogy, A Memory Called Empire is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert’s Dune.

VOX by Christina Dalcher author Q&A

the book is about taking away a fundamental right, in this case speech, and as such, anyone could have been the target.

The Character I’d Love To Write

Characters - the heart and soul of any story

space: Landing on the Moon is HARD!

Why is landing on the Moon so hard? We can start by mentioning that the Moon is NOT made of soft cheese...
travel-3370812_960_720.jpg

DNA Analysis – No Monster in Loch Ness (Sad Emoji)

Another crypto bites the dust...

They’re Back: Pets in Space® Returns!#PetsInSpace #amreading

Do you like pets? Do you like space? If so, then have we got an anthology for you!

A Hook Into an Eye: The Testaments by Margaret Atwood

A review of the sequel to the Handmaid's Tale
1627113949.jpg

ANNOUNCEMENT: The Killing Spell, by Shane Ulrrein

Edward’s new relationship puts him to the ultimate test as he must risk being with the boy he loves even at the cost of his own life!
pBTpN2jwoL3MtPDunyQwQf-1024-80.jpg

SCIENCE: Scientists Invent Really Black Stuff

Image: © R. Capanna, A. Berlato, and A. Pinato On the floor of the New York Stock Exchange, a team of artists and scientists have...