The Character I’d Love To Write

Characters - the heart and soul of any story

space: Landing on the Moon is HARD!

Why is landing on the Moon so hard? We can start by mentioning that the Moon is NOT made of soft cheese...
travel-3370812_960_720.jpg

DNA Analysis – No Monster in Loch Ness (Sad Emoji)

Another crypto bites the dust...

They’re Back: Pets in Space® Returns!#PetsInSpace #amreading

Do you like pets? Do you like space? If so, then have we got an anthology for you!

A Hook Into an Eye: The Testaments by Margaret Atwood

A review of the sequel to the Handmaid's Tale
1627113949.jpg

ANNOUNCEMENT: The Killing Spell, by Shane Ulrrein

Edward’s new relationship puts him to the ultimate test as he must risk being with the boy he loves even at the cost of his own life!
pBTpN2jwoL3MtPDunyQwQf-1024-80.jpg

SCIENCE: Scientists Invent Really Black Stuff

Image: © R. Capanna, A. Berlato, and A. Pinato On the floor of the New York Stock Exchange, a team of artists and scientists have...

FKA USA: A Road Trip Though Apocalyptic America

Formerly Known As...takes us into an all too possible future

Andre Norton’s Influence

A top flight science fiction romance author pays tribute to Andre Morton.

Q&A: Juliet Marillier, Author of ‘The Harp of Kings’

The first time I stumbled across Juliet Marillier’s books was years ago when I came across a beat-up copy of Wildwood Dancing in an...

Why Everyone Should Read V.E. Schwab’s ‘Vicious’

“Plenty of humans were monstrous, and plenty of monsters knew how to play at being human.” Every once in a while, there comes along a...

Why are Books That Shape? From Codices to Kindles, Why ThisRectangle...

Anyone who has ever tried to organize their bookshelves can tell you that books are not a standard size. In fact, even books that...

The Book Of The New Sun by Gene Wolfe getting an...

Wow...a lot of fans are going to be thrilled by this - Gene was popular and this series was award-winning!

10 Fantastically Fierce Books Like CIRCE By Madeline Miller

Did you love Madeline Miller’s Circe? You’re not alone! Miller’s irresistible novel gives voice to Circe, the crooked witch we all know—or think we know—from The...

This Is How You Lose the Time War Solves the Time...

Time waits for no love

The Light Years by R. W. W. Greene cover reveal

a far future where arranged marriages have taken on a whole new life

In Memoriam-Brad Linaweaver

Brad Linaweaver (b.1952) died after a lengthy battle with cancer on August 29.  Linaweaver began publishing science fiction in 1980 with the short story “The...

Netflix Releases First Look and Premiere Date For Superpowered Drama ‘Raising Dion’

Netflix released new images for the upcoming superhero coming of age drama, Raising Dion. The Michael B. Jordan produced series will be released on...

Q&A: Sherry Thomas, Author of ‘The Magnolia Sword’

Inspired by wuxia martial-arts dramas as well as the centuries-old ballad of Mulan, The Magnolia Sword is perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Marie Lu, or Kristin Cashore–a...

Review: The Inn by James Patterson and Candice Fox

The Inn is the latest from a Candice Fox and James Patterson partnership, and it is as exciting as their Harriet Blue series. The book...

Q&A: Emily Lloyd-Jones, Author of ‘The Bone Houses’

Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching, historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab. Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up...
Screen-Shot-2019-09-11-at-8.49.23-AM.jpg

ANNOUNCEMENT: Armageddon, by Erik Schubach

QSFer Erik Schubach has a new FF urban fantasy out in his Urban Fairy Tales series: “Armageddon.” Last Upon a time… The Avatars have all gathered...
Conviction - M.D. Neu - A New World

REVIEW: Conviction, by M.D. Neu

Title: Conviction Series: A New World Book Two Author: M.D. Neu Genre: sci fi LGBTQ+ Category: LGBT/Gay Publisher: NineStar Press Pages: 260 Reviewer: Kel Johnson, Paranormal Romance Guild About The Book A little blue...

SPACE: Did Astronomers Just Find Another Earth?

In a major first, scientists have detected water vapor and possibly even liquid water clouds that rain in the atmosphere of a strange exoplanet...

13 Folktales From Around The World For Young Readers

This roundup of folktales for young readers from around the world is sponsored by The Jumbie God’s Revenge by Tracey Baptiste, new from Algonquin Young...

7 Epistolary Time Travel Stories

At first we thought this was a post about the growth of sex organs...but then "Epistle" was explained to us and it wasn't Latin for what we thought it was Latin for....

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 6th, 2019

Sponsored by Shadow Mountain Publishing These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire soon, so get them while they’re hot! Today’s Featured Deals American Panda...

Wet Hot Necrogoth Summer: A Non-Spoiler Review of Gideon the Ninth...

Here's some horror to set you up for tomorrow's Friday the 13th!

10 Kids Books about Inventors to Inspire YoungCreators

Get those kids started young!