Review: Cold Storage by David Koepp

0
896

Cold Storage by David KoeppFrom page one this book grabs ahold and refuses to let go. There is no easing into it, nor should there be in a novel focused on catastrophic events that could wipe out mankind. A green fungus is spreading, one that grows, and spreads, and… thinks. David Koepp constructs a terrifying concept that plays out on the pages of the book with grisly realism as we watch people and animals alike become infected, and meet their gruesome end.

What follows is an orchestrated ensemble effort to stop the growing threat. Through multiple points of view, we follow scientists, and bystanders caught in the wrong place at the worst possible time as they are forced to work together if they hope to make it out alive.

The attention to detail Koepp utilized in developing his concepts, characters, and plot makes it terrifyingly realistic. Readers will be on the edge of their seat, screaming for characters to run and peeking between their fingers as the next terror unfolds. But it is the science of Cold Storage that I would be remiss if I didn’t mention. From equipment to botany, procedures to protocols; Koepp misses nothing. The knowledge and research add to the story in a way that will leave readers suspiciously eyeing any moss or fungus they happen on.

While this isn’t a genre I normally read—mostly because I scare easy—I highly recommend Koepp’s Cold Storage for those looking for a high-octane adventure to devour. Another win for Koepp!

Cold Storage is available from Amazon, Book Depository, and other good book retailers.

Will you be picking up Cold Storage? Tell us in the comments below!


Synopsis | Goodreads

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism

When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository.

Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it.

He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards—one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity?


This article was originally posted on
https://www.thenerddaily.com/review-cold-storage-by-david-koepp/

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.