AMAZING NEWS FROM FANDOM – 6/2/19 – also Pride Edition

Awards and scrolls, awards and pixels…this is fandom,. after all. and – SFWA SINGS!

Dennis Etchison (1943-2019)
Horror author Dennis Etchison (1943-2019) died during the night on May 29 reports his Facebook page. The title story of Etchison’s first short story collection, The Dark Country (1982) received the World Fantasy Award (tied with Stephen King), as well

2019 Eugie Award Finalists
The shortlist for the 2019 Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction is online: “Barleycorn” by Cae Hawksmoor (Abyss & Apex) “The Heart of Owl Abbas” by Kathleen Jennings ( “When We Were Starless” by Simone Heller (Clarkesworld) “A Witch’s

Pixel Scroll 5/28/19 Pix-El, Last Scroller Of Krypton
BAYCON. The Mercury News shared its very positive impression of last weekend’s BayCon: “Bay Area science fiction fans beam up to San Mateo to talk Star Trek, transgender fans and activism”. …Speakers over the weekend included Brianna Wu, a

2019 Golden Voice Lifetime Achievement Awards
AudioFile Magazine has honored audiobook narrators January LaVoy, Edoardo Ballerini, Bahni Turpin, Suzanne Toren, andJohnny Heller with Golden Voice Lifetime Achievement Awards. The award celebrates an artist’s iconic role in the field of narration and recognizes those who have made significant contributions to

Top 10 Posts for May 2019
The implications of a Worldcon bid for Israel fueled discussion here for days. News about the top awards commanded interest, too – the winners of the Nebulas and Bram Stokers, plus a poll asking what people think are the field’s

Pixel Scroll 5/31/19 Moon Pixel, Wider Than A File, I’m Scrolling You In Style Someday
BEST TRANSLATED BOOK AWARDS. The winners of the 2019 Best Translated Book Awards were announced May 29. I believe neither is genre. (However, Sofia Samatar, past winner of a World Fantasy Award, is among the judges.) Slave Old Man,

A Tor Moment at Book Expo
Above, Tom Doherty and Harriet McDougal toast the October publication of Robert Jordan’s Warrior of the Altaii. “Tom Doherty bought the book decades ago,” notes Andrew Porter, who took the photo. “Harriet McDougal is not only an editor at Tor,

Over There
By John Hertz: (reprinted from No Direction Home 13) Last year was the centennial of Raggedy Ann Stories, by Johnny Gruelle (1880-1938). At the author’s death it had sold three million copies. He wrote and illustrated two dozen books about

Pixel Scroll 5/30/19 The Pixels, My Friend, Are Scrollin’ In The Wind
KIND OF LIKE A CORRESPONDENCE COURSE. BBC reports “JK Rowling to release new Harry Potter eBooks”. JK Rowling is to release four new Harry Potter eBooks next month, offering fans the chance to “delve deeper into the rich history

2019 SFPA Speculative Poetry Contest
On June 1, the 2019 Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association (SFPA) Poetry Contest opens and will be accepting entries from all poets, including non-members of the SFPA. Poets may enter in three categories: Dwarf — poems 1-10 lines (prose poems 0-100 words)

Pixel Scroll 5/29/19 Los Scrollitos Dicen Pixelo Pixelo Pixelo
SURVEY SAYS. The Stephen Follows Film Data and Education blog asks “Are video game movies the worst type of adaptations?” The recent release of Pokémon Detective Pikachu has prompted some readers to get in touch and ask about the

Friedrich and Bridwell Are 2019 Bill Finger Award Winners
Mike Friedrich and E. Nelson Bridwell have been selected to receive the 2019 Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing. The selection was made by a committee composed of writer-historian Mark Evanier (chair), Charles Kochman (executive editor at

2019 Clampett Humanitarian Award
The 2019 recipients of the Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award are Edgardo Miranda-Rodriguez, Kyung Jeon-Miranda, and Lisa Wood. The awards will be presented by Ruth Clampett (Bob’s daughter) during the Eisner Awards ceremony on July 19. Edgardo Miranda-Rodriguez, creator of the

SFWA’s Latest Recruitment Anthem
Emperor Stardust and the Eunuchs of the Forbidden City bring you “Come and Join Our Band.” This new recruitment anthem for the Science Fiction/Fantasy Writers of America was performed live at the Nebula Awards Ceremony on May 18, 2019 in

Premio Vegetti 2019
The winners of the Premio Vergetti for 2019 were announced May 25 in Impruneta, Italy. The Premio Vegetti is given by World SF Italia, Italy’s professional association for sff writers and a vestige of the World SF organization once led

Pixel Scroll 5/27/19 You Have The Right To A Dragon. If You Do Not Have A Dragon, Or Cannot Afford One, One Will Be Provided To You Free of Charge.
A DAY OBSERVED. At Book View Café, Diana Pharoah Francis marks the U.S. holiday: “Memorial Day”. Today is the day we remember and honor those who’ve served in the military and those who continue to serve. Those who died

2018 Ursa Major Awards
The winners of the 2018 Ursa Major Awards for excellence in the furry arts were announced at AnthrOhio on May 26. Best Motion Picture Live-action or animated feature-length movies. Isle of Dogs (Directed by Wes Anderson; April 13) Best Dramatic

Ahmad Wins New SLF Grant
Senaa Ahmad is the iaugural winner of the Speculative Literature Foundation’s A.C. Bose Grant for South Asian Speculative Literature, founded in fond memory of Ashim Chandra Bose by his children, Rupa Bose and Gautam Bose. The grant, worth $1,000, is

Pixel Scroll 5/26/19 Scrollman vs the Click
SEND YOUR NAME TO MARS. NASA’s Mars 2020 Rover is heading to the red planet. Submit your name by September 30, 2019, and fly along! Full details on the NASA website. Over five million names have been sent in …

Related articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.