War Bodies: Cover and chapter one of Neal Asher’s sci-fi revealed

Out in hardback this summer, Neal Asher’s War Bodies is a gripping, high-octane standalone set in his expansive Polity world and we’re delighted to reveal the cover (above) AND Chapter One.

Here is the official synopsis for the novel…

Rebellion could be their salvation – or their doom.

Long ago, the Cyberat left Earth to co-evolve with machines. Now, led by the powerful dictator Castron, their Old Guard believe that machines should replace the physical body. But these beliefs are upended with the arrival of the human Polity – and their presence ignites rebellion.

Piper was raised as a weapon against the Cyberat, implanted with secretive hardware. When his parents are captured by the Old Guard, the Polity offer him unexpected aid. Piper knows the Polity want more from him, but at what cost? The rebellion also attracts the deadly prador, placing an entire world in peril.

As war rages across the planet, Piper must battle with the unknown technology implanted in his bones. It may be the Polity’s answer to their relentless fight against the prador. It could also be civilization-ending Jain tech – or something far more extraordinary.

Want to join Piper and the Polity in the rebellion against Cyberat? Of course you do! You’ll have to wait until this July to read the novel in full but if you’re like us and just can’t wait until then, we have Chapter One of War Bodies right here.

Neal Asher divides his time between Essex and Crete, mostly at a keyboard and mentally light years away. His full-length novels are as follows. First is the Agent Cormac series: Gridlinked, The Line of Polity, Brass Man, Polity Agent and Line War. Next comes the Spatterjay series: The Skinner, The Voyage of the Sable Keech and Orbus. Also set in the same world of the Polity are these standalone novels: Hilldiggers, Prador Moon, Shadow of the Scorpion, The Technician, Jack Four, Weaponized and War Bodies. The Transformation trilogy is also based in the Polity: Dark Intelligence, War Factory and Infinity Engine. Set in a dystopian future are The Departure, Zero Point and Jupiter War, while Cowl takes us across time. The Rise of the Jain trilogy is comprised of The Soldier, The Warship and The Human, and is also set in the Polity universe.


Source: War Bodies: Cover and chapter one of Neal Asher’s sci-fi revealed

Please take a moment to support Amazing Stories with a one-time or recurring donation via Patreon. We rely on donations to keep the site going, and we need your financial support to continue quality coverage of the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres as well as supply free stories weekly for your reading pleasure. https://www.patreon.com/amazingstoriesmag

Previous Article

I Know What the Moon Looks Like by Jenn Hopkins – FREE STORY

Next Article

Genre Penetration of Streaming Services, Courtesy of JustWatch – January 30th, 2023

You might be interested in …