Thor’s Greatest Writers and Artists Return to Asgard for Thor’s 750th Issue
Fans will get to celebrate the long and storied history of the God of Thunder with the writers and artists who helped build his legacy! Coming just in time for Thor’s 60th anniversary, Thor #24 will be a 74-page epic honoring

Pixel Scroll 4/16/22 Or Is It But A Pixel Of The Mind, A False Creation, Proceeding From The Scroll-Oppressed Brain?
SCRIPT DOCTOR. “Ditch the Tardis! Seven ways Russell T Davies could revive Doctor Who” according to the Guardian. Here’s one of the ideas on their list: A ‘Doctor of the week’ every week What if there was no one

Fight With Art
By James Bacon: “” is an exhibition of Ukrainian Contemporary Art created under exceptional circumstances taking place now in Kraków at the Manggha Museum until April 30. We reached out to curator Artur Wabik to learn more of this

Pixel Scroll 4/15/22 Is That A Real Pixel, Or Is That A Sears Pixel
WISCON NEWS. Today’s “#SaveWisCon Update” has its ups and downs: We are making AMAZING progress on our work to #SaveWisCon, thanks to your help! We have now raised just over $32,000 in donations of which $30,000 will be matched,

Pixel Scroll 4/14/22 The Golden Age Of Pixel Scroll Is Fifth
A FILER’S ROSES. Today is release day for Heather Rose Jones’ novella The Language of Roses, a queer fairy-tale re-visioning that embraces the darker aspects of Beauty and the Beast, and does not particularly believe in redemption arcs. (2) IT’S

R.M.S. Titanic … “A Night To Remember”
By Steve Vertlieb: It was one hundred ten years ago, on the night of April 14, 1912, at approximately 10:40 PM, when R.M.S. Titanic met her irrevocable date with destiny, striking an iceberg in the icy Atlantic and, within hours,

Pixel Scroll 4/13/22 Have Scroll Suit, Will Pixel
2022 OR 1942? LINDGREN FEATURED IN NASA POSTER. Astronaut Kjell Lindgren, who memorably presented a 2015 Hugo Award via video from the International Space Station, will soon be returning there as a member of SpaceX Crew-4. NASA recently released

Pixel Scroll 4/12/22 If I Could Godstalk To The Animals
SPEAKER FOR THE REDSHIRTS. “The Big Idea: Wil Wheaton” is a discussion of Wheaton’s new book today at Whatever. … In Still Just A Geek, I write a lot about the child abuse, neglect, and exploitation I survived and

Pixel Scroll 4/11/22 This Is My Quest, To Pixel That Scroll
Going a bit light today so I can finish my tax returns! (1) NIMONA SAVED. “Netflix Picks Up LGBTQ Animated Film ‘Nimona’ Dropped by Disney” reports The Wrap. Netflix announced on Monday morning that it would be picking up “Nimona,” the LGBTQ

Emails From Lake Woe-Is-Me — Fit the Twenty-Seventh
[Introduction: Melanie Stormm continues her humorous series of posts about the misdirected emails she’s been getting. Stormm is a multiracial writer who writes fiction, poetry, and audio theatre. Her novella, Last Poet of Wyrld’s End is available through Candlemark &

Barkley — So Glad You (Didn’t) Ask: A Column of Unsolicited Opinions #64
The Diary of A (Slightly Unhinged) Hugo Award Nominee By Chris M. Barkley: March 18, 2022 At 6:09 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time my email inbox received a message. At that moment, I was listening to National Public Radio’s daily flagship news


2021 BSFA Awards
The British Science Fiction Association today announced the winners of the . The awards are voted on by members of the British Science Fiction Association and by the members of the year’s Eastercon, the national science fiction convention,

2022 Philip K. Dick Award
The winner of the , given for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States, was announced April 15 at Norwescon 44: Dead Space by Kali Wallace (Berkley Books) Special citation was given

Horror Writers Association 2021 Specialty Awards Winners
The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the recipients of its 2021 Specialty Awards. SPECIALTY PRESS The HWA Specialty Press Award goes to Valancourt Books. The HWA Specialty Press Award is presented periodically to a specialty publisher whose work has substantially

Horror Writers Association Names 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award Winners
The Horror Writers Association (HWA) has selected their 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award Winners: Jo Fletcher, Nancy Holder, and Koji Suzuki. The awards will be given at this year’s StokerCon, happening in Denver, Colorado in May. HWA presents the Lifetime Achievement

Crime Fiction Awards Headlines
Another pair of crime fiction awards have announced their shortlists in the past few weeks. DASHIELL HAMMETT AWARD The finalists for the 2021 Dashiell Hammett Award for Literary Excellence in Crime Writing have been named by the International Association of Crime

Peabody Awards 2022 Nominees
The Peabody Awards 2022 nominations were released today, a total of 60 covering the categories of entertainment, documentaries, news, podcast/radio, children’s & youth, public service and arts. “Following yet another turbulent year, Peabody is proud to honor an array of

2022 Lefty Awards
Left Coast Crime 2022 announced the Lefty Awards winners on April 9. BEST HUMOROUS MYSTERY NOVEL Raquel V. Reyes, Mango, Mambo, and Murder (Crooked Lane Books) BEST HISTORICAL MYSTERY NOVEL for books set before 1970. Naomi Hirahara, Clark and Division (Soho Crime) BEST DEBUT MYSTERY NOVEL Wanda M. Morris, All

2022 Prometheus Award Finalists For Best Novel
The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced five finalists for the Best Novel category of the 42nd annual Prometheus Awards. The Best Novel winner will receive a plaque with a one-ounce gold coin. An online awards ceremony is planned for August at

Australian Shadows Awards 2021
The Australasian Horror Writers Association announced the winners on April 12. The juried award is given in eight categories for the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australasian within the calendar year. Eligible genres/sub-genres include

P. Djèlí Clark Wins 2022 Compton Crook Award
The Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS) has announced that the 2022 Compton Crook Award winner is A Master of Djinn by P. Djèlí Clark. The award is given for best first novel in the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres. Clark is

Golden Pen and Golden Brush Winners Announced at 38th Annual Writers & Illustrators of the Future Gala
The L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Awards Gala was held April 8 in the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood. 38TH GRAND PRIZE GOLDEN BRUSH AWARD Zaine Lodhi of Sarasota, Florida, for his illustration of “Agatha’s Monster” 38TH

Please take a moment to support Amazing Stories with a one-time or recurring donation via Patreon. We rely on donations to keep the site going, and we need your financial support to continue quality coverage of the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres as well as supply free stories weekly for your reading pleasure.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article

TIME MACHINE (Yes, it is April 17th, 2022)

Next Article


You might be interested in …