DisCon III Moves to December 2021 at the Omni Shoreham
DisCon III, the 2021 Worldcon, will take place as an in-person convention from December 15-19, 2021, at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, DC. The DisCon III committee chose these dates after nearly two-thirds of respondents to their public survey

ConFusion 2021 Eastercon Report
By Jo Van Ekeren: This past weekend, ConFusion 2021 (Eastercon) was held as a virtual convention. Guests of Honour were author Dan Abnett, author and editor Nik Vincent-Abnett, and fan Dave Lally. The online environment was primarily in an application

Baen’s Bar Returns
Baen Books publisher Toni Weisskopf turned the Baen’s Bar forum back on today, ending the hiatus that came in the aftermath of Jason Sanford’s February 15 article “Baen Books Forum Being Used to Advocate for Political Violence”, a public post on Patreon.

In Happy Pursuit of Jeopardy!
[Introduction: Brendan DuBois is the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of more than 25 novels and 190 short stories, some of which have appeared in Playboy, Analog, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, and Asimov’s. His 1999

Pixel Scroll 4/9/21 I Have Heard the Pixels Scrolling, Each to Each
WHEN THE DOORS OPEN, WHO WILL COME IN? The Los Angeles Times interviewed people who rely on convention business to measure the distance between reopening and recovery. “California reopening: When will huge conventions come back?” The San Diego Convention

2021 PEN America Literary Award Finalists
The 2021 PEN America Literary Awards have been announced. The complete list of finalists is here. The list of winners is here. Sharks in the Time of Saviors: A Novel by Kawai Strong Washburn, nominated in two categories, received the PEN/Hemingway

Robert Hood – “Rev. Bob” – Has Died
Editor, writer, webmaster and File 770 commenter Rev. Bob died April 7 at the age of 50. His mother made the announcement on Facebook: Many of you know him as Bob or Rev. Bob. He died peacefully at home

Pixel Scroll 4/8/21 Illinois Pixels! I Hate Illinois Pixels.
AMAZING STORIES ON HIATUS. Steve Davidson’s Amazing Stories issued a press release announcing that “A major licensing agreement using the Amazing Stories name has been terminated owing to non-payment.” As a result, the magazine won’t be coming out. (The

Adler Blog Tour Visits File 770
File 770 today hosts a Titan-Comics blog tour for Adler, written by Lavie Tidhar and with art by Paul McCaffrey. Here’s James Bacon’s review of the issue, plus a six-page excerpt from the comic: Review by James Bacon Adler by Lavie Tidhar and

Pixel Scroll 4/7/21 Pixels Who Need Pixels Are The Luckiest Pixels In The Scroll
AN APPEAL. [Item by rcade.] In a series of tweets Tuesday, Astounding Award winner Jeannette Ng asks for more nuanced takes on problematic elements of literary works and less pat conclusions about what they reveal about the author. Thread

2021 VES Awards
The Visual Effects Society named the winners of the in a ceremony hosted by Patton Oswalt on April 6. The VES Awards recognize VFX artistry in 25 categories spanning film, TV, animation, commercials and video games. Netflix thriller The Midnight

Pixel Scroll 4/6/21 A Pixel’s A Pixel, No Matter How Small
CAN HORROR EXIST IN SPACE? [Item by Soon Lee.] It started with Freelance writer Elle Hunt’s Twitter poll on whether Alien is a horror film, and unsatisfied when most of the respondents ticked yes, said, “My argument: horror cannot

Alison Scott Wins Doc Weir Award
The Doc Weir Award for service to fandom was presented to Alison Scott during Confusion, the virtual Eastercon, this past weekend. eFanzine’s complete history of the Doc Weir Award begins: The Doc Weir Award was set up in 1963 in

Pixel Scroll 4/5/21 You Say Pixels Go, I Say Here We Scroll
IS CLI-FI PART OF THE PROBLEM? BBC World Service’s The Climate Question asks a panel including Ken Liu “Is science fiction holding back climate action?” (23 minute audio.) For centuries, we’ve been reading, watching and listening to science fiction.

Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards Winners Include Samuel Delany for Life Achievement
Samuel R. Delany received a Life Achievement Award today as one of the winners of the 86th Annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards. The awards “recognize books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures.”

The Weaponization of the ARC
By rcade: After Jay Kristoff revealed in a contest announcement Friday that St. Martin’s Press is printing four different covers of the advance review copy (ARC) for his new fantasy novel Empire of the Vampire, some authors are objecting to

2021 Pulp Factory Awards
The 2021 Pulp Factory Award winners were named March 30. The announcement was made on YouTube instead of at the Windy City Pulp and Paperback Convention as in past years (the 2021 event has been postponed until September). The winners were chosen

2021 SAG Awards
The 2021 Screen Actors Guild Awards were presented April 4. Genre films and TV series gained recognition in the stunt categories. The Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture went to Wonder Woman 1984. The Stunt Ensemble in a Comedy or Drama Series

Pixel Scroll 4/4/21 Listen To Them, The Pixels Of The Night. What Scrolls They Make
FALLING FORWARD. In the Washington Post, Annalee Newitz published an excerpt from their book Four Lost Cities: A Secret History Of The Urban Age, where they argue that civilizations don’t “collapse,” but slowly evolve into something else. “Civilizations don’t really

Will Proposed Legislation Be a Stumbling Block to France’s Worldcon Bid?
Two commenters on Twitter have raised the spectre that the French bid to hold the Worldcon in 2026 might be harmed by the political backlash in France which followed revelations last month that a left-wing student union, called UNEF, organizes

Eastercon 2022 Announced
Eastercon, the UK’s longest running science fiction convention, will be called Reclamation in 2022. The committee’s intention is to return Eastercon to an in-person event if possible. However, the announcement does not say where it would be held. The convention

BSFA Awards 2020
The British Science Fiction Association announced the winners on April 4. The BSFA Awards have been presented annually since 1970. The awards are voted on by members of the British Science Fiction Association and by the

Please take a moment to support Amazing Stories with a one-time or recurring donation via Patreon. We rely on donations to keep the site going, and we need your financial support to continue quality coverage of the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres as well as supply free stories weekly for your reading pleasure.

Previous Article


Next Article


You might be interested in …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.