2018 Nominees for the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History Announced


We are pleased to announce this year’s nominees for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History.  The winners will be announced at Worldcon 76 in San Jose, CA the weekend of August 16-20.  The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year’s panel of judges was made up of Karen Hellekson, Matt Mitrovich, Jim Rittenhouse, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

Short Form

Tom Anderson & Bruno Lombardi, “N’oublions Jamais,” Altered Europa, edited by Martin T. Ingham, Marinus Publishing, 2017
Dave D’Alessio, “The Twenty Year Reich,” Altered Europa, edited by Martin T. Ingham, Marinus Publishing, 2017
Nisi Shawl, “Sun River,” Clockwork Cairo: Steampunk Tales from Egypt, edited by Matthew Bright, Twopenny Books, 2017
Harry Turtledove, “Zigeuner,” Asimov’s, 9-10/17

Long Form

Gregory Benford, The Berlin Project, Saga Press, 2017
Brent Harris, A Time of Need, Insomnia Publishing, 2017
Elan Mastai, All Our Wrong Todays, Dutton, 2017
Alan Smale, The Clash of Eagles trilogy (Clash of Eagles, Eagle in Exile, Eagle and Empire), Del Rey, 2015-2017
Bryce Zabel, Once There Was a Way, Diversion Books, 2017

The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were conceived in late 1995 to honor the best allohistorical genre publications of the year. The first awards were announced in summer 1996 and honored works from 1995. The award takes its name from Murray Leinster’s 1934 short story “Sidewise in Time,” in which a strange storm causes portions of Earth to swap places with their analogs from other timelines.

For more information, contact Steven H Silver at or go here.


  1. I see my “Prospect” trilogy was not nominated – did that have anything to do with it being only self-published?
    Tx if you can reply.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.