FANAC Zoom History – APAs Everywhere – This Saturday

Zoom in for the latest FANAC Fan History presentation –

APAs Everywhere – Fred Lerner, Christina Lake, Amy Thomson and Tom Whitmore

– December 9, 2023 – 2PM EST, 11AM PST and 7PM London GMT

Since the first FAPA mailing in 1937, APAs have been a part of fannish life. There are topic specific apas, local apas, general interest apas, convention committee apas, letter substitutes and doubtless many more. Our panelists, all long time APA members, talk about their experiences with APA life: Why did you join the APA(s)? Did you APA live up to your expectations and why? Tell us about the APAs you’ve been part of, and tell us what makes them unique. (You can tell us about APAs you weren’t part of too!) Talk about the way the members of the APA related to each other, and the nature of that community. Compare the experience of an online community like LiveJournal or Facebook with your APA experience. The Cult was called the “13 Nastiest Bastards in Fandom”. Was it? What feels different about womens’ APAs? Are APAs now obsolete? Would you join a new APA today?

If you are not on the Frequent Zoomer list, please send a note to fanac@fanac.org

and let them know you’d like to attend!

Please take a moment to support Amazing Stories with a one-time or recurring donation via Patreon. We rely on donations to keep the site going, and we need your financial support to continue quality coverage of the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres as well as supply free stories weekly for your reading pleasure. https://www.patreon.com/amazingstoriesmag

Previous Article

Unexpected Questions with Ramona Louise Wheeler

Next Article

“Tasmanian Devil” event has the power of trillions of Stars

You might be interested in …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.