2022 Hugo Award Ceremony

The Hugo Awards will be presented tomorrow night, in Chicago, at Chicon 8, the 80th World Science Fiction convention.

From the Chicon 8 Website:

Voting for the 2022 Hugo Awards, the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer is CLOSED. Access to the voter’s packet is also closed.

The winners of the 2022 Hugo Awards, the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer will be announced at the Hugo Award Ceremony at Chicon 8 on Sunday, September 4, 2022 at 8:00p.m. CDT (UTC-5). The ceremony will be hosted by Toastmasters Charlie Jane Anders and Annalee Newitz in front of a live audience. The full ceremony will also be streamed live on the internet. The results will be posted to this page after the conclusion of the ceremony.

The Hugo Award® is the leading award for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy. The Hugos were first presented in 1953 and have been awarded every year since 1955 by the members of the World Science Fiction Society (Worldcon members) at the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon). The complete list of Hugo Award winners can be found at the official Hugo Award website. The current rules for the Hugo Awards are contained in Article 3 of the WSFS Constitution.

Voting for the Hugo Awards takes place in two stages. The first stage, nomination, was open to anyone who had a Supporting or Attending membership in the previous or current Worldcon as of January 31, 2022. For Chicon 8, this meant members of DisCon III (the 2021 Worldcon) and Chicon 8 itself. During this stage, members were able to nominate any eligible work or person.

The second stage of voting was the final ballot. This stage was open only to Chicon 8 members (including those who joined after January 31, 2022). In the final ballot, members choose between the finalists in each category.

If you have any questions about the Hugo Awards process, please contact Hugo Help.

The base designer for the 2022 Hugo Award is Brian Keith Ellison. The designer of the 2022 Lodestar Award is Sara Felix.

2022 Hugo Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2022 Hugo Awards, the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult book, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer were announced on April 7, 2022.

1368 valid nominating ballots were received and counted from the members of the 2021 and 2022 World Science Fiction Conventions.

The winners of the awards will be announced at the Hugo Awards Ceremony, starting at 8:00 p.m. on the evening of Sunday, September 4.

The full list of finalists can be found here.

The Chicon 8 Committee has irrevocably delegated all Hugo Administration authority to a subcommittee. Therefore, Kat Jones, Jesi Lipp, Brian Nisbet, and Nicholas Whyte are ineligible for 2022 Hugo Awards.

“World Science Fiction Society”, “WSFS”, “World Science Fiction Convention”, “Worldcon” “NASFIC”, “Hugo Award”, the Hugo Award logo, and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award rocket are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. ©2022 “Chicago in 2022 Worldcon” (501(c)3) not-for-profit corporation d/b/a Chicon 8.

Please take a moment to support Amazing Stories with a one-time or recurring donation via Patreon. We rely on donations to keep the site going, and we need your financial support to continue quality coverage of the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres as well as supply free stories weekly for your reading pleasure. https://www.patreon.com/amazingstoriesmag

Previous Article

Chicon 8 Underway – Announces Awards

Next Article

UPDATE: LAUNCH SCRUBBED! Next Attempt 9/5 NASA Attempts to Launch Artemis 1 Moon Mission Again, Today

You might be interested in …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.