Pixel Scroll 7/23/22 Filers, Tick Not, Now Or Ever, Where To Scroll Your Pixels Go
AURORA AWARDS VOTING DEADLINE. Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association have only a few minutes left to vote for 2022 Aurora Awards. The deadline is 11:59 p.m. EDT, on Saturday, July 23. The awards ceremony will be held as

Eric Flint (1947-2022)
Prolific and distinguished author and editor Eric Flint died July 17 at the age of 75. David Weber made the announcement on Facebook. Flint was frequently hospitalized for health problems in recent years. In 2019, he had to leave the

Pixel Scroll 7/22/22 And The Pixel That Was Planted In My Brain Still Remains, Within The Scrolls Of Filers
BOT AND PAID FOR. In “Fandoms Can Do Bad All by Themselves”, Vice looks at reports about what percentage of social media support for the release of the Zack Snyder cut of Justice League came from bots, but concludes

Prix Utopiales Jeunesse 2022 Shortlist
The finalists for the Prix Utopiales Jeunesse 2022 have been announced, one of the awards that will be presented at Utopiales, the International Science Fiction Festival of Nantes planned for October 29-November 1. The Prix Utopiales Jeunesse recognizes a novel or

Jordan: Hugo Finalists for Best Novel, Part 2
By Michaele Jordan: You may remember that a couple of weeks ago, I posted (or rather I started to post) my personal take on the Hugo nominees for Best Novel, but I only got through the first three. So here

Pixel Scroll 7/21/22 This Pixel Intentionally Left Indescrollable
WICKED GOOD. [Item by Jennifer Hawthorne.] I was browsing this article in Slate and was pleasantly shocked to find Estraven from The Left Hand of Darkness on the list. There are other more mainstream SFFnal entries too. “The best death scenes

2022 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year
The is Slough House by Mick Herron. The prize was created to celebrate “excellence, originality, and the very best in crime fiction from UK and Irish authors” whose novels were published in paperback during

Uncanny Magazine is Kickstarting Year Nine
Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas are launching a Kickstarter for Year Nine of their five-time Hugo Award-winning professional online Science Fiction and Fantasy magazine: Uncanny Magazine. Each issue contains new and classic speculative fiction, fiction podcasts, poetry, essays,

A Photographic Memory
By Steve Vertlieb: It may not come as much of a surprise to anyone that I was a sheltered, lonely, sensitive kid. I was born in the closing weeks of 1945, and grasped at my tentative surroundings with uncertain hands.

2021 World Fantasy Awards Final Ballot
The World Fantasy Awards administrator announced the final ballot for this year’s awards on July 20. LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT Samuel R. Delany Terri Windling 2020 WORLD FANTASY AWARD FINALISTS NOVEL Black Water Sister by Zen Cho (Ace Books/Macmillan) A Master of

Pixel Scroll 7/20/22 The Whoopee Cushions Of Isher
Today I drove to Ventura to play Risk with my brother, one of his sons, and his grandson. (The son won, I finished third.) There are Scrolls that have been published even later than this one, if you can believe

Pixel Scroll 7/19/22 A Phlogiston Of Filers
AKO CAINE PRIZE. Kenyan writer Idza Luhumyo has been awarded the 2022 AKO Caine Prize for African Writing for her short story “Five Years Next Sunday”, published in Disruption (Catalyst Press and Short Story Day Africa, 2021). The story

First Chicon 8 Business Meeting Agenda Posted
Chicon 8, the 2022 Worldcon, has published the initial draft of the Business Meeting agenda. It can be downloaded here. (Subsequent updates will be found on Chicon 8’s Business Meeting page.) This includes the usual spate of new WSFS Constitution

The Apocalyptic Finale of the Event of the Year Arrives in A.X.E.: Judgment Day #6
In two days, a war between two of the most powerful factions in the Marvel Universe will erupt and your favorite heroes will face cosmic judgment like never before… Written by comics mastermind Kieron Gillen and drawn by acclaimed artist

Pixel Scroll 7/18/22 Scroll With A Pixel Earring
I’m spending the day accompanying my mother to an in-office surgery, so this will be Scroll Lite. Cat has run up the birthdays. I hope you’ll add in the comments whatever other links of sff interest deserve to be Scrolled

Emails From Lake Woe-Is-Me — Fit the Thirty-Ninth
[Introduction: Melanie Stormm continues her humorous series of posts about the misdirected emails she’s been getting. Stormm is a multiracial writer who writes fiction, poetry, and audio theatre. Her novella, Last Poet of Wyrld’s End is available through Candlemark &

Pixel Scroll 7/17/22 You Can Get Further With A Pixel Scroll And A Ray Gun Than With A Pixel Scroll Alone
GOOSEBUMPS. [Item by Martin Morse Wooster.] Yahoo! Entertainment interviews R.L. Stine on the 30th anniversary of the Goosebumps series. Stine reveals his inspiration is…Ray Bradbury! “’Goosebumps’ at 30: R.L.


2022 Eisner Awards
Comic-Con International announced the winners of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards 2022 at an in-person ceremony on July 22. 2022 WILL EISNER COMIC INDUSTRY AWARDS BEST SHORT STORY “Funeral in Foam,” by Casey Gilly and Raina Telgemeier, in You Died: An

2022 Manly Wade Wellman Award
The for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy winner was announced at ConGregate 8 on July 22 in Winston-Salem, NC. The award is presented by the North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation. 2022 Manly Wade Wellman Award Winner The Actual Star by

2022 Scribe Awards
The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers announced the on July 22 at an award ceremony during San Diego Comic-Con. The IAMTW’s Scribe Awards honor licensed works that tie in with other media such as television, movies, gaming, or

Kurd Laßwitz Award Radio Play Category Winner
The Kurd Laßwitz Preis is a literature award for German-language science fiction that is awarded annually in up to eight categories. The other winners were announced earlier this year. For the Kurd Laßwitz Award radio category, the radio play jury

Sidewise Awards Nominees for 2021
The nominees for the Sidewise: Sidewise Awards for Alternate History for the calendar year 2021 were announced July 19. SHORT FORM Matt Kresal, “Hitchcock’s Titanic,” Tales from Alternate Earths, Vol. III, Inklings Press, 2021 Alan Smale, “Gunpowder Treason,” Tales from Alternate Earths, Vol.


Please take a moment to support Amazing Stories with a one-time or recurring donation via Patreon. We rely on donations to keep the site going, and we need your financial support to continue quality coverage of the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres as well as supply free stories weekly for your reading pleasure.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article


Next Article


You might be interested in …