An Amazing Trick or Treat Announcement

hellboundvMED - CopyHeroes in Hell is a series of shared world fantasy books, within the genre Bangsian fantasy, created and edited by Janet Morris and written by her, Chris Morris, C. J. Cherryh and others. The first 12 books in the series were published by Baen Books between 1986 and 1989, and stories from the series include one Hugo Award winner and Nebula nominee, (Gilgamesh in the Outback by Robert Silverberg from Rebels in Hell), as well as one other Nebula Award nominee. The series was resurrected in 2011 by Janet Morris with the thirteenth book and eighth anthology in the series, Lawyers in Hell, followed by four more anthologies and a novel between 2012 and 2015.

So, what’s the background?

The shared world premise of Heroes in Hell (also called The Damned Saga) is that all the dead wind up together in Hell, where they pick up where they left off when still alive. The Encyclopedia of Fantasy states “In the long series of shared world adventures begun with Heroes in Hell, Hell becomes an arena in which all the interesting people in history can come together to continue the relentless pursuit of their various ends.” Brian Stableford commented that the series “adapted the backcloth of Dantean fantasy as a stage for violent adventures with ironic echoes of infernal comedy.


You should be. Just think of what you could do with such a concept, where dastardly deeds, despicable desires and dark secrets of the most infamous souls in all history are stirred to fruition and laid bare for your inspection. No wonder the Universe continues to go from strength to strength:
Just look at the pedigree of the series as a whole:


Heroes in Hell The Gates of Hell
Rebels in Hell Kings in Hell
Crusaders in Hell Legions of Hell
Angels in Hell Masters in Hell
The Little Helliad War in Hell
Prophets in Hell Explorers in Hell

And in recent years
Lawyers in Hell
Rogues in Hell
Bridge Over Hell
Dreamers in Hell
Poets in Hell
Doctors in Hell

And do you know what? There’s amazing news…

The Heroes in Hell Universe just got that little bit bigger as there’s a new kid on the block.

The latest release from the Heroes in Hell stable – Doctors in Hell – introduced us to Satan’s go-to guy in times of trouble, the Reaper, Daemon Grim. Fans of the series will be delighted to hear that Grim will soon be appearing in his very own HIH adventure – Hell Bound – along with a number of other already established villains you’ve already come to know and hate…

The date – October 31 of course – when else in the year would you expect the Reaper pay you a visit?

But the trick is – you don’t have to wait that long to treat yourself!

The pre-release link is already available.

Stay tuned

Things are going to get bloody – Brutal and bloody – just the way Grim likes it.

In hell, everyone can hear you scream.

Please take a moment to support Amazing Stories with a one-time or recurring donation via Patreon. We rely on donations to keep the site going, and we need your financial support to continue quality coverage of the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres as well as supply free stories weekly for your reading pleasure.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article


Next Article

The 1941 Retro Hugo Awards (Part 5 – Dramatic Presentation Short Form)

You might be interested in …