AMAZING NEWS: 9/13/15

1
223

SPECIAL NOTE: Amazing Stories is producing a series of articles and supplements on the 1941 Retro Hugo Awards. An index page (that will be regularly updated) can be found here.

PRESS RELEASES & NEWSLETTERS (full text can be found below)

Harper Collins; Inkitt Contest Results; Geeks Out T-Shirt Offer; Gollancz Geeks Selections; Night Shade New Release

SOCIAL

Inside a Confederate Flag Rally (thousands were expected, less than 50 show up)

Black Mamba Anti-Poaching Unit (Mostly Women) Wins Top UN Environmental Prize

Terrorist Troll Associated with GamerGate Arrested by FBI (lives in parent’s basement – who knew?)

US Drops Illegal Tech-Sharing Charges Against Dr. Xi (Jumped to Conclusions & Couldn’t Understand the Science)

ENTERTAINMENT

The Hal Salive SF & F Collection (via Fictionmags Yahoo Group)

Let Commander Uhura Put You to Sleep with these Star Trek Ambient Sounds

More Nichelle NIchols – at DragonCon

Wrapping Up the2015 HUgo Awards – Open Thread Discussion

Smithsonian Seeks Fan Help With Restoring NCC 1701 The Enterprise

Singularity Mag Issue #1

Man in the HIgh Castle Debuts Nov. 20

“One of the most original fantasy novels…”

Chip Delany Speaks (via Jim Freund)

NY Times Calls The Martian a “Nerd Thriller”

SF Signal Gets Invaded by The Martian

INDUSTRY

MidAmeriCon History

Now We Have Hugo Controversy Quizzes (What’s next?  Hugo Controversy Bheer?)

Neil Clarke on The Sad State of Short Fiction Reviews

A Map of Literary SF Conventions

A 2016 Hugo Recommendation Discussion (It starts early this year)

John DeNardo (SF Signal) Lists Books Coming to Film

Standlee Explains Why Hugo Administrators Are Not Activists

Capclave 2015 Is Coming

SCIENCE

Scientists Read & Watch Science Fiction.  Who Knew?

Man & Machine Will Merge! (via Kimberly Unger)

You’ll Never Look At A Map the Same Again

Reef Protecting KillBot (Funny;  Chandler wrote a story all about robotic starfish created to destroy a reef….)

Take a Picture, Then Print it in 3D?

von Braun Gets Name Checked

PRESS RELEASES & NEWSLETTERS

30% off the 2016 Guide to the Night Sky. To view this email in your browser, click here.
HarperCollins Publishers

Win a telescope and a Brian Cox book bundle

Campaign_GuideToTheNightSky

Want to win a telescope and a Brian Cox book bundle?

Enter code GTNS30 when you pre-order the 2016 Guide to the Night Sky to get 30% off and be automatically entered into our prize draw.
enter here

Blindsided
Following an incredible career at the pinnacle of the game, Michael Lynagh tells with searing emotion the story of how, lying in intensive care following a catastrophic stroke, all that went before vanished into insignificance.
learn more

A Line of Blood, Ben McPherson

New Andrew Marr

ONE DOOMED PRIME MINISTER. TWO WOULD-BE SUCCESSORS. BUT WHO’S PULLING THE STRINGS?
The second novel from Britain’s foremost political commentator.
Learn More

Borderlines, Michela Wrong

The new must-have book is coming…

A baby goes missing, But does her mother want her back? Read the first chapter here for free.
REad More

The Bad Things, Killer Reads exclusive

TOP EBOOK OFFERS

The Exchange, Carrie Williams
The Exchange
by Carrie Williams
ONLY £0.99
Ends 16th September
Learn More

The Gate of Angels, Penelope Fitzgerald
The Gate of Angels
by Penelope Fitzgerald
ONLY £2.99
Ends 16th September
LEARN MORE

The Darling Strumpet., Gillian Bagwell
The Darling Strumpet
by Gillian Bagwell
ONLY £0.99
Ends 16th September
LEARN MORE

Killing Cupid, Louise Voss & Mark Edwards

Killing Cupid
by Louise Voss & Mark Edwards
ONLY £1.49
Ends 16th September
LEARN MORE

This email was sent to

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, registered in Scotland, Company No. 27389. Registered address: Westerhill Road, Bishopbriggs, Glasgow G64 2QT.
© 2015 Harper Collins | Privacy Policy | www.harpercollins.co.uk

Harper Collins Publishers Copyright © 2014 HarperCollins Publishers. All Rights Reserved

###

Get excited! It’s time to announce the winners of Inkitt’s latest contest, Hither and Thither!

This time around, we had Ksenia Anske judging, and boy, were there a lot of quality stories for her to choose from. Once again, you have blown us away with with your stories – how lucky we are to have so many talented authors on the site!

We won’t keep you waiting any longer – your winners are below. Happy reading, and congrats to our top 3!

Follow us on Facebook or Twitter for more recommendations!

Winners of the Hither and Thither Contest

###

Geeks OUT
Is this email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

Don’t Let Psychic Teens Get Away With Bullying!

GEEKS OUT
LIMITED EDITION SHIRT

Has a time traveling teenage psychic called you Gay?

Has she erased your bi-ness?

Fear not!

Wear this shirt and proudly fight back against cruel tactics of omega level bullies!

There are less than 14 days left to get one, but that’s plenty of time before New York Comic-Con.AND, if you’re modeling one at New York Comic-Con, please stop by our booth for a special gift!

 

Copyright © 2015 Geeks OUT, All rights reserved.

###

The House of Shattered Wings

by Aliette de Bodard

Who we think will love this book: Fans of Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, adventures and mystery.

Why we think you’ll love this book: Magicians, fallen angels, alchemy and a superb murder-mystery set in Paris. Trust us, this is one book you don’t want to miss!

Paris in the aftermath of the Great Houses War. Its streets are lined with haunted ruins, Notre-Dame is a burnt-out shell, and the Seine runs black, thick with ashes and rubble. Yet life continues among the wreckage. Three very different people must come together: a naive but powerful Fallen, an alchemist with a self-destructive addiction, and a resentful young man wielding spells from the Far East. They may be the city’s salvation; or the architects of its last, irreversible fall . . .

Enter the House of Shattered Wings . . .

The House of Shattered Wings is out now in trade paperback, ebook and audio

Twelve Kings

by Bradley Beaulieu

Who we think will love this book: Fans of epic fantasy, adventure, kick-ass female protagonists, mystery, ancient walled desert cities

Why we think you’ll love this book: One word: Çeda. You’ve never met a herione quite like her before.

In the cramped west end of Sharakhai, the Amber Jewel of the Desert, Çeda fights in the pits to scrape a living. She, like so many in the city, pray for the downfall of the cruel, immortal Kings of Sharakhai, but she’s never been able to do anything about it. That all changes when she goes out on the night of Beht Zha’ir. As Çeda begins to unlock the mysteries of that fateful night, she realizes that the very origin of the asirim and the dark bargain the Kings made with the gods of the desert may be the key she needs to throw off the iron grip the Kings have over Sharakhai.

Intrigued? Read the first three chapters of Twelve Kings

Buy Twelve Kings now in trade paperback, ebook and audio

 

Luna: New Moon

by Ian McDonald

Who we think will love this book: near future SF, fans of Kim Stanley Robinson, fans of The Martian looking for a new read full of the thrills of adventure and survival on lethal worlds.

Why we think you’ll love this book: Matriarchs, Machiavellis and Godfathers! It’s The Godfather on the moon, what’s not to love? Plus, Luna: New Moon has just been optioned for a TV series.

The Moon wants to kill you. She has a thousand ways to do it. The bitter cold of vacuum. The lethal sheet of radiation. Choking dust as old as the Earth. Or you could simply run foul of one of the Five Dragons, the corporations that rule the Moon and control its vast resources. Adriana Corta is eighty. Her family run Corta Helio. They have survived the vicious corporate wars and the dangerous peace that followed. But now that peace is fracturing. Adriana may have to die but she will not be killed by her rivals or the Moon. And whatever happens to her, Corta Helio will not die . . .

Meet the Corta family

Luna: New Moon is published on 17 September in trade paperback and ebook

 

The Promise of the Child

by Tom Toner

Who we think will love this book: Fans of Space Opera, grand adventure and SF that does something different.

Why we think you’ll love this book: This is space opera like you’ve never seen it before!

In the far future man has spread out into the galaxy. And diversified. Some have evolved physically into strange new forms, some have become immortal. Others hark back to the old ways. While we have built a glorious new future, there are troubling rumours. Rumours of a bid to oust the Emperor and a worrying story that our history is not as we remember it — what if something other than humans left Earth? If you need another reason to try Tom Toner’s extraordinary and unique debut, it has already earned rave reviews from Adam Roberts and Karl Schroeder.

Start reading now!

The Promise of the Child will be out in trade paperback and ebook in November

###

Title

11th of September 2015

Happily Ever After by John Klima is available for $1.99 on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and more!

Happily Ever After is a star-studded book of fairy tales, featuring an introduction by Bill Willingham (Fables) and stories by Gregory Maguire, Susanna Clarke, Karen Joy Fowler, Charles de Lint, Holly Black, Garth Nix, Kelly Link, Peter Straub, Neil Gaiman, Patricia Briggs, and many other fantasy luminaries… read more

      


stay connected

an imprint of

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.