New To Netflix: Unbelievable

A story of unspeakable trauma, unwavering tenacity, and astounding resilience. Netflix’s new limited series Unbelievable is inspired by real events where a teen reports and...
RpLy4JjoSyKfBxEgR4veWS-650-80.jpg

The Shifter With a Prize Inside

An unusual deep sea find
living-writers-poster-image-378-219x300.png

UCSC Living Writers Series Lineup

UC Santa Cruz announces its reading and lecture lineup
Pelham_Ken-photo-150-pixels-X-150-pixels.jpg

The Jargon and Slang of the Fantastic

In this expose by author and SFWA member Ken Pelham, writers are cautioned not to get trapped by jargon and slang

Outpost by W. Michael Gear Review

Space Westerns are making a come back

VOX by Christina Dalcher author Q&A

the book is about taking away a fundamental right, in this case speech, and as such, anyone could have been the target.

Best Space Operas of 2019

Up-coming space operas, the "bread and butter of the genre

The Best Jodi Picoult Books: 3 Reading Pathways

Jodi Picoult has been my all-time favorite author ever since I read My Sister’s Keeper back in 2004. When she came to my hometown...

Silhouette by Robin Hale: Book Review

Silhouette by Robin Hale is a tale about what happens when a notorious jewel thief accidently comes face to face with the handler/voice-in-the-ear-for the...

Working Hard Not To Be Repetitious As An Author

Are you a "Groundhog Day" writer?

Your Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Bargains for September 1, 2019

FREE BOOK OF THE DAY The Nibiru Effect: A Time Travel Adventure by G. Sauvé The past has been altered, and Will Save is the only...

New To Netflix: The I-Land

Chosen… tested… a group of strangers will soon find out that paradise isn’t all it seems. Find out what darker realities lies beneath the...

‘Cannon Busters’ Featured in Netflix Documentary ‘Enter The Anime’

Ahead of its August 15th premiere on Netflix, the upcoming anime series Cannon Busters and its creator, LeSean Thomas are featured in the Netflix...

Andre Norton’s Influence

A top flight science fiction romance author pays tribute to Andre Morton.

Eden by Tim Lebbon book cover reveal and exclusive extract

An excerpt from the upcoming release of Eden

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 9th, 2019

Sponsored by Gallery Books.   These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire soon, so get them while they’re hot! Today’s Featured Deals The Book of Dust:...
EO5uHWQUUAMcWf3-e1579785203818.jpg

In the Comics, X-Men Are Appearing On Drag Race

RuPaul’s Drag Race is canon in the Marvel universe...
stokercon-uk-300x103.jpg

Newman GoH at StokerCon 2020

Kim Newman will be Writer Guest of Honour at Stokercon UK, to be held April 16-19, 2020 at the Royal and Grand Hotels in...

Peter F Hamilton on having his work adapted by Netflix

Peter F. Hamilton is coming to TV; here's what he thinks about that.

A Safe Place in the Galaxy: Post-Apocalyptic Refugees in The Vela...

Jim C. Hines...Janitors of the post apocalypse...what's not to love?

The Adventure of the Incognita Countess by Cynthia Ward: Book Review

The Adventure of the Incognita Countess was a curious combination of historical fiction, paranormal romance, and 1950’s sci-fi Martian movie noir.

Looking Glass by Christina Henry exclusive book cover reveal and excerpt

An advanced look at Looking Glass, a collection of novellas by Christina Henry

SPACE: Ice on Mercury?

Years from now we'll discover that there is ice everywhere in the solar system

On the Importance of Having Your Book Translated (Not Your Mind-Set)

When writing for translation - let your identity and cultural background take the lead

Brian Naslund author blog: Top 5 most badass action heroes in...

I still think Jane Fonda's 'Cat Ballou' ought to be worked in here somehow

G. L. Carriger’s The 5th Gender is a Genre-Smashing Good Time

The 5th Gender - a cozy mystery science fiction and queer romantic comedy with a healthy dose of social commentary

Q&A: Emily Lloyd-Jones, Author of ‘The Bone Houses’

Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching, historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab. Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up...
How To Be Remy Cameron by Julian Winters

Review: How To Be Remy Cameron by Julian Winters

This book follows Remy Cameron, an adopted, openly gay, black teen who is trying to figure out his place in the world and who...
Conviction - M.D. Neu - A New World

REVIEW: Conviction, by M.D. Neu

Title: Conviction Series: A New World Book Two Author: M.D. Neu Genre: sci fi LGBTQ+ Category: LGBT/Gay Publisher: NineStar Press Pages: 260 Reviewer: Kel Johnson, Paranormal Romance Guild About The Book A little blue...

Win a copy of A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine...

An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine’s first novel in the Texicalaan trilogy, A Memory Called Empire is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert’s Dune.