Kid-Friendly Halloween Comics

Halloween season, the spookiest of all seasons, is almost upon us. Which means it’s time to carve out the pumpkins and pull out all...

Writing About the Loss of a Sibling: A Discussion with Melissa Stephenson

I lost my only brother to leukemia in late November 2017. It was the most heartbreaking, devastating loss I could ever imagine, and I’m...

The Pages of The Mind Flash Fiction

Flash Fiction from Veronica Scott

How Do I Decide What To Write Next?

As a freelancer, choosing what to write next can be an interesting decision

Announcing the End of the SFR GalaxyAwards

Alas, the SFR Galaxy Awards will be no more. This annual event launched in 2013 and was managed by bloggers Heather Massey and Laurie...
SFF-Tor.com-Short-Stories-Audiobook.jpg

Review: Five New Tor.com Sci-Fi Audio Short Stories

On August 27th, Tor.com released an audio collection of five previously published science-fiction/fantasy stories by some of the most popular writers in this genre....

New To Netflix: The I-Land

Chosen… tested… a group of strangers will soon find out that paradise isn’t all it seems. Find out what darker realities lies beneath the...

Brian Naslund author blog: Top 5 most badass action heroes in...

I still think Jane Fonda's 'Cat Ballou' ought to be worked in here somehow
TheChase_CVR_250w.jpg

Your Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Bargains for September 3, 2019

FREE BOOK OF THE DAY The Chase: Huntress of the Star Empire #1 by Athena Grayson She’s the empire’s secret weapon, but her secrets could bring...

Cold Storage by David Koepp new book trailer and the entire...

Three strangers must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism.

Win a copy of A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine...

An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine’s first novel in the Texicalaan trilogy, A Memory Called Empire is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert’s Dune.

VOX by Christina Dalcher author Q&A

the book is about taking away a fundamental right, in this case speech, and as such, anyone could have been the target.

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 8th, 2019

Sponsored by Baker Publishing Group These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire soon, so get them while they’re hot! Today’s Featured Deals Yes Please by...

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 10th, 2019

Sponsored by The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gowar and Harper Perennial. These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire...

The Nightjar author Deborah Hewitt on mythical creatures in film

It is all the Never Ending Story's Fault

10 Kids Books about Inventors to Inspire YoungCreators

Get those kids started young!

Q&A: Jenni Hendriks and Ted Caplan, Authors of‘Unpregnant’

A chat with Jenni Hendriks and Ted Caplan about their new novel, Unpregnant,

Flash Fiction Fun with the Classics

Flash fiction draws on literary classics

The Best Jodi Picoult Books: 3 Reading Pathways

Jodi Picoult has been my all-time favorite author ever since I read My Sister’s Keeper back in 2004. When she came to my hometown...

Top 5 films about how to survive a terrible wreck by...

Can we learn anything about survival from survival films?

Win Giraffes On Horseback with our latest book competition

The Salvadore Dali - Groucho Marx Film Collaboration that NEVER happened!

Best New Science Fiction Books

Check out this month's new SF releases
pBTpN2jwoL3MtPDunyQwQf-1024-80.jpg

SCIENCE: Scientists Invent Really Black Stuff

Image: © R. Capanna, A. Berlato, and A. Pinato On the floor of the New York Stock Exchange, a team of artists and scientists have...

Why Everyone Should Read V.E. Schwab’s ‘Vicious’

“Plenty of humans were monstrous, and plenty of monsters knew how to play at being human.” Every once in a while, there comes along a...
Defending Their Bond - L.N. Manning - Crescent Edge Pack

REVIEW: Defending Their Bond, by L.N. Manning

Title: Defending Their Bond Series: Crescent Edge Pack Book Two Author: L.N. Manning Genre: Paranormal LGBTQ+ Category: MM/Gay Publisher: Self Pages: 172 Reviewer: Melissa Brus, Paranormal Romance Guild Get It On Amazon About The...

What Trends Do I See Coming in #SciFi Romance?

Reverse Harems seem to be a fading plot, while "bully academies" are trending; what else will be happening with future romance?

Queer Love, Rage, and Magic Amid War: Red Skies Falling by Alex...

Twins Kylee and Brysen find themselves separated for the first time in their lives, each on either side of a world fluttering toward the...

Why are Books That Shape? From Codices to Kindles, Why ThisRectangle...

Anyone who has ever tried to organize their bookshelves can tell you that books are not a standard size. In fact, even books that...
living-writers-poster-image-378-219x300.png

UCSC Living Writers Series Lineup

UC Santa Cruz announces its reading and lecture lineup
Depositphotos_68226235_xl-2015-600x450.jpg

SPACE: Three Black Holes Are About to Collide

Three black holes...click, click, click