Christopher Hinz cover reveals: Starship Alchemon and Duchamp Versus Einstein

An excerpt from Starship Alchemon, by Christopher Hinz

Some Amazon Users Received Margaret Atwood’s ‘The Testaments’ A Week Early...

Some lucky readers got a surprise treat-- the new Margaret Atwood novel, 'The Testaments', which they received in the mail ahead of its September...

Gideon The Ninth author Tamsyn Muir on our love of swords

An interview wqith Tamsyn Muir on her latest release - Gideon the Ninth

YA Built on Duty and Power: Katy Rose Pool’s There Will...

Here is a recipe for a YA novel that I will never be able to resist: two cups of a mysterious event that took...

7 Epistolary Time Travel Stories

At first we thought this was a post about the growth of sex organs...but then "Epistle" was explained to us and it wasn't Latin for what we thought it was Latin for....

For Bi Week – A Bisexual Primer

This week is Bisexual+ Awareness Week. Be aware!

On the Importance of Having Your Book Translated (Not Your Mind-Set)

When writing for translation - let your identity and cultural background take the lead

Q&A: Juliet Marillier, Author of ‘The Harp of Kings’

The first time I stumbled across Juliet Marillier’s books was years ago when I came across a beat-up copy of Wildwood Dancing in an...
TheChase_CVR_250w.jpg

Your Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Bargains for September 3, 2019

FREE BOOK OF THE DAY The Chase: Huntress of the Star Empire #1 by Athena Grayson She’s the empire’s secret weapon, but her secrets could bring...

Eden by Tim Lebbon book cover reveal and exclusive extract

An excerpt from the upcoming release of Eden
pBTpN2jwoL3MtPDunyQwQf-1024-80.jpg

SCIENCE: Scientists Invent Really Black Stuff

Image: © R. Capanna, A. Berlato, and A. Pinato On the floor of the New York Stock Exchange, a team of artists and scientists have...
RpLy4JjoSyKfBxEgR4veWS-650-80.jpg

The Shifter With a Prize Inside

An unusual deep sea find

Giveaway: The Future of Another Timeline by Annalee Newitz

Enter now to win a copy of Annalee Newitz's latest The Future of Another Timeline

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 6th, 2019

Sponsored by Shadow Mountain Publishing These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire soon, so get them while they’re hot! Today’s Featured Deals American Panda...

Best Space Operas of 2019

Up-coming space operas, the "bread and butter of the genre

Best New Young Adult Books

The latest in YA book releases!

The Light Years by R. W. W. Greene cover reveal

a far future where arranged marriages have taken on a whole new life

Your Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Bargains for September 1, 2019

FREE BOOK OF THE DAY The Nibiru Effect: A Time Travel Adventure by G. Sauvé The past has been altered, and Will Save is the only...

Author guest blog: On Becoming a Lioness by Kristina Pérez

A YA author discusses her journey to authorship

Octavia Butler’s Parable Series To Get Reissue

We all need to pay more attention to Octavia Butler. Here's your chance.

How Will Deepfake AIs Change Our World?

Deep Fakes may require AIs to identify

Why Everyone Should Read V.E. Schwab’s ‘Vicious’

“Plenty of humans were monstrous, and plenty of monsters knew how to play at being human.” Every once in a while, there comes along a...

Lore Over Love: The Resurrectionist of Caligo by Wendy Trimboli and...

The Resurrectionist of Caligo plays with genre in an intriguing and clever way. There are horror elements mixed with fantasy, colonial critique, and class commentary, all blended into a book that is a pleasure to read.

Vox by Christina Dalcher Review

Vox is easily defined as a more modern take on The Handmaid's Tale

ComiXology Originals Debuts Quarter Killer An Action-Packed, Cyberpunk 5-Part Mini-Series Co-written...

An action-packed, cyberpunk 5-issue comic series, Quarter Killer #1 is part of the comiXology Originals line of exclusive content

Outpost by W. Michael Gear Review

Space Westerns are making a come back

13 Songs Influenced by Edgar Allan Poe

This post on songs influenced by Edgar Allan Poe is sponsored by Flatiron Books, publishers of His Hideous Heart, a collection of 13 of Edgar Allan...

VOX by Christina Dalcher author Q&A

the book is about taking away a fundamental right, in this case speech, and as such, anyone could have been the target.

Win a copy of A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine...

An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine’s first novel in the Texicalaan trilogy, A Memory Called Empire is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert’s Dune.

space: Landing on the Moon is HARD!

Why is landing on the Moon so hard? We can start by mentioning that the Moon is NOT made of soft cheese...