Blurb a Buddy? Seasons of Sorcery!

Help your fellow authors out with effective blurbing!

A Safe Place in the Galaxy: Post-Apocalyptic Refugees in The Vela...

Jim C. Hines...Janitors of the post apocalypse...what's not to love?
Screen-Shot-2019-10-06-at-7.00.44-AM-600x337.jpg

New “Picard” Trailer, and a Release Date

Star Trek: Picard. (Just wondering when we're going to see Star Trek: Kirk, or Star Trek: Sisko, or even - my vote - Star Trek: McCoy

Q&A: Sherry Thomas, Author of ‘The Magnolia Sword’

Inspired by wuxia martial-arts dramas as well as the centuries-old ballad of Mulan, The Magnolia Sword is perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Marie Lu, or Kristin Cashore–a...

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 11th, 2019

Sponsored by What They Meant for Evil by Rebecca Deng, published by FaithWords, an imprint of Hachette Book Group These deals were active as of...

‘Cannon Busters’ Featured in Netflix Documentary ‘Enter The Anime’

Ahead of its August 15th premiere on Netflix, the upcoming anime series Cannon Busters and its creator, LeSean Thomas are featured in the Netflix...

Best New Young Adult Books

The latest in YA book releases!

Gideon The Ninth author Tamsyn Muir on our love of swords

An interview wqith Tamsyn Muir on her latest release - Gideon the Ninth

The Best Jodi Picoult Books: 3 Reading Pathways

Jodi Picoult has been my all-time favorite author ever since I read My Sister’s Keeper back in 2004. When she came to my hometown...

Adventure and Ancient Relics: The Lady Rogue by Jenn Bennet

Theodora Fox is the perfect treasure hunter—she’s read every book she can get her hands on, she loves cracking codes and crosswords, and her...

My Ideal Ereader

Don't like paper and ink? Check out these e-readers

Burning Bridges?

In this world of social media and hacking and etc., anything you say anywhere anytime EVER can come back to bite you.
Depositphotos_68226235_xl-2015-600x450.jpg

SPACE: Three Black Holes Are About to Collide

Three black holes...click, click, click

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 10th, 2019

Sponsored by The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gowar and Harper Perennial. These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire...

Hexarchate Scribe: An Introduction to Yoon Ha Lee’s Fiction

A collection of short stories from the author of NInefox Gambit

How Do I Decide What To Write Next?

As a freelancer, choosing what to write next can be an interesting decision
Pelham_Ken-photo-150-pixels-X-150-pixels.jpg

The Jargon and Slang of the Fantastic

In this expose by author and SFWA member Ken Pelham, writers are cautioned not to get trapped by jargon and slang

MoCon Flash Fiction & Poetry Contest Winners!

Apex is proud to share the winning stories...
DfHDrBsUYAArKk6.jpg

TV: Lynda Carter to Reprise Role as Wonder Woman

Lynda Carter will be returning to the role that made her famous

SPACE: Did Astronomers Just Find Another Earth?

In a major first, scientists have detected water vapor and possibly even liquid water clouds that rain in the atmosphere of a strange exoplanet...

Vox by Christina Dalcher Review

Vox is easily defined as a more modern take on The Handmaid's Tale

Research Was My Key to Writing the Fight Scenes

It's a knife fight in the world of science fiction romance!
Depositphotos_119333634_xl-2015.jpg

SPACE: How Many Humans Could Live on the Moon?

Don't they read Heinlein? Moon colonies are largely sublunarian...and besides, everyone on the planet could fit on the island of Zanzibar if they'd all just exhale....

FILM: Kristen Stewart Wants to Play a Gay Superhero

Last week, in a Harper’s Bazaar interview, Stewart said that she had been told to hide her sexuality in order to better her career. “I...

Unleash the Horror of The Monster of Elendhaven by Jennifer Giesbrecht

In a world of wickedness and cruelty, a monster is born.

Early Works: Space Dragon and Starfire

Almost sharing early developmental works is something most authors will do; sharing the actual work? Not.

Your Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Bargains for September 1, 2019

FREE BOOK OF THE DAY The Nibiru Effect: A Time Travel Adventure by G. Sauvé The past has been altered, and Will Save is the only...

For Bi Week – A Bisexual Primer

This week is Bisexual+ Awareness Week. Be aware!

13 Folktales From Around The World For Young Readers

This roundup of folktales for young readers from around the world is sponsored by The Jumbie God’s Revenge by Tracey Baptiste, new from Algonquin Young...