REVIEW: Ruby Lost & Found, BY M.D. Grimm

Title: Ruby Lost & Found Series: The Stones of Power Author: M.D. Grimm Genre: Fantasy LGBTQ+ Category: MM/Gay Publisher: Self Pages: 247 Reviewer: Linda Tonis, Paranormal Romance Guild About The Book Lord Morgorth is...

The Light Years by R. W. W. Greene cover reveal

a far future where arranged marriages have taken on a whole new life

12 YA Recommendations Based On Your Favorite Poe Poem

This list of YA books like Edgar Allan Poe poems is sponsored by Flatiron Books, publishers of His Hideous Heart, a collection of 13 of Edgar...
Conviction - M.D. Neu - A New World

REVIEW: Conviction, by M.D. Neu

Title: Conviction Series: A New World Book Two Author: M.D. Neu Genre: sci fi LGBTQ+ Category: LGBT/Gay Publisher: NineStar Press Pages: 260 Reviewer: Kel Johnson, Paranormal Romance Guild About The Book A little blue...

MoCon Flash Fiction & Poetry Contest Winners!

Apex is proud to share the winning stories...
Screen-Shot-2019-09-05-at-7.10.31-AM.jpg

ANNOUNCEMENT: Surviving Death, by G.R. Lyons

An excerpt from a gay paranormal romance novel
spellboun-d.jpg

REVIEW: Spellbound: An Erotic Odyssey, by Angello Adrien

In a place where myths and legends are alive and well, David Angellus finds himself thrown through a gauntlet of godly games. 

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 9th, 2019

Sponsored by Gallery Books.   These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire soon, so get them while they’re hot! Today’s Featured Deals The Book of Dust:...

Blockbuster Action, Body Horror, and Wicked Humor: David Koepp’s Cold Storage

Content Warning: mention of animal death. Cold Storage is David Koepp’s first novel, but odds are good that you’re familiar with his work as a...

‘Cannon Busters’ Featured in Netflix Documentary ‘Enter The Anime’

Ahead of its August 15th premiere on Netflix, the upcoming anime series Cannon Busters and its creator, LeSean Thomas are featured in the Netflix...

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 11th, 2019

Sponsored by What They Meant for Evil by Rebecca Deng, published by FaithWords, an imprint of Hachette Book Group These deals were active as of...

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for September 10th, 2019

Sponsored by The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gowar and Harper Perennial. These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire...

50 YA Paperbacks For Fall 2019

Pumpkin spice is in the air, y’all, even if it’s still technically summer until the end of September. With the forthcoming season, of course,...

Q&A: Sherry Thomas, Author of ‘The Magnolia Sword’

Inspired by wuxia martial-arts dramas as well as the centuries-old ballad of Mulan, The Magnolia Sword is perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Marie Lu, or Kristin Cashore–a...
048-600x450.jpg

Jeff Baker, Boogieman in Lavender: Of Dracula and Dragons

                                                            By Jeff Baker             He is one of the most famous characters in fiction, certainly the most famous vampire. He is Dracula, also known as Count...

Some Amazon Users Received Margaret Atwood’s ‘The Testaments’ A Week Early...

Some lucky readers got a surprise treat-- the new Margaret Atwood novel, 'The Testaments', which they received in the mail ahead of its September...

My Take on Zombies By Way of My Apex Novel, DesperHollow

Guest post by Elizabeth Massie, author of Desper Hollow Zombie fiction offers all sorts of variations on the living/walking dead mythos. Most of these novels...

FILM: Kristen Stewart Wants to Play a Gay Superhero

Last week, in a Harper’s Bazaar interview, Stewart said that she had been told to hide her sexuality in order to better her career. “I...

An Ode to the Technology That Enriches My Reading Life

This post about reading technology is sponsored by The Hive by Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden from KCP Loft. New York Times bestselling authors Barry Lyga and...

ANNOUNCEMENT/GIVEAWAY: A Light Amongst Shadows (Audio), by Kelley York & Rowan Altwood

QSFer Kelley York and Rowan Altwoods’ YA paranormal book “A Light Amongst Shadows” is finally out in audio! James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled...

SFWA Minimum Pro Rate Now in Effect

The SFWA minimum payment rate for professional short fiction markets is now eight cents  per word. In accordance with our mission to support and empower...
Pelham_Ken-photo-150-pixels-X-150-pixels.jpg

The Jargon and Slang of the Fantastic

In this expose by author and SFWA member Ken Pelham, writers are cautioned not to get trapped by jargon and slang

Best Space Operas of 2019

Up-coming space operas, the "bread and butter of the genre
Sea of Glass Seven Jane

EXCLUSIVE: ‘The Isle of Gold’ & Its Upcoming Sequel

This October marks the one-year anniversary of Seven Jane’s The Isle of Gold and we are thrilled to be releasing a brand new book...
Screen-Shot-2019-09-10-at-6.47.16-AM.jpg

Narwhals, Narwhals…

Narwhals are medium-size marine mammals known for their characteristic tusk that resembles a unicorn’s horn. Their reclusive nature and remote Arctic habitat only adds...

Announcing the End of the SFR GalaxyAwards

Alas, the SFR Galaxy Awards will be no more. This annual event launched in 2013 and was managed by bloggers Heather Massey and Laurie...

SPAWN SERIES ARTIST JASON SHAWN ALEXANDER TEAMS WITH STARZ’S AMERICAN GODS WRITER...

Press Release PORTLAND, Ore. 8.15.2019 — Image Comics is pleased to announce an all-new, skin-crawling series by writer Rodney Barnes (Wu-tang: An American Saga, Marvel’s Runaways, Starz’s American...

Peter F Hamilton on having his work adapted by Netflix

Peter F. Hamilton is coming to TV; here's what he thinks about that.

Adventure and Ancient Relics: The Lady Rogue by Jenn Bennet

Theodora Fox is the perfect treasure hunter—she’s read every book she can get her hands on, she loves cracking codes and crosswords, and her...

Writing About the Loss of a Sibling: A Discussion with Melissa Stephenson

I lost my only brother to leukemia in late November 2017. It was the most heartbreaking, devastating loss I could ever imagine, and I’m...