AMAZING NEWS: 5/31/15

PRESS RELEASES & NEWSLETTERS (full text below)

Flamecon SWAG; Gollancz – More Genre For You; Harper Collins Sale;

kellySOCIAL

Big Bang Theory Creates Scholarship

Astronaut Scott Kelly Interviewed Aboard ISS and Here

How Nerd Insecurity Becomes Abuse (via Pretty-Terrible)

The Hugo Kerfuffle Giveth and the Hugo Kerfuffle Taketh Away (via Pretty-Terrible

THIS is Diversity

ENTERTAINMENT

Starship Sofa and Tony Smith Are Back with The Most Anticipated Books of 2015

Read Paul Levinson’s The Enduring Test in Nature

Alternate History Weekly Presents Videos for Alternate Historians

spaceplane-670x440-150529INDUSTRY

50th Nebula Awards Coming Real Soon Now!

Amazing Stories Announces Gernsback SF Short Story Contest

Random Penguin & Amazon In Dispute (or “here we go again”)

Scalzi on His DEAL – Washington Post Interview

ceresSCIENCE

Ancient Sunken City Explored

Boeing Gets First Commercial Crew Contract

SpaceX Certified for Military Missions

Europa Mission Begins

Mars Lander Tests

Is That the X-37B Streaking Over Our Heads?  Why yes, yes it is!

New Photos From Ceres

Herpes Virus Used to Treat Skin Cancer

PRESS RELEASES & NEWSLETTERS


GET YOUR TICKETS TO THE FIRST EVER
LGBTQ COMIC CON IN NEW YORK 

LIMITED TICKETS AVAILABLE HERE

SWAG!
All guests coming through the door at Flame Con
will get a free poster designed just for us by the amazing Max Wittert!
How flaming fantastic is that?!

GAME ON!

Flame Con is getting its game on with the crew from GaymerX, the West Coast LGBT gaming convention! GaymerX will be curating a gaming lounge for geeks to explore video games, tabletop games, card games, tournaments, and demos of hot upcoming titles from LGBT-friendly developers.

GALA!

This gala’s on FIRE!  When the sun goes down, things will heat up even more as we re-open the doors for The Fire Ball, Flame Con’s awesome after party! Join us for a night of burlesque dancers, drag shows, live drawing, great music, costumes, drinks, dancing and more!

CON ONLY
PARTY ONLY
& CON/PARTY TICKETS AVAILABLE NOW!

 
FLAMECON is on Saturday, June 13th at
THE GRAND PROSPECT HALL (they make your dreams come true)
BROOKLYN, NYC

###

Welcome back, Gollancz Geeks!

We promised we wouldn’t keep you waiting too long to hear from us and we haven’t! We are delighted to be able to share with you some of our favourite books coming out in the next few months. If you would like to request a review copy of any of the books featured below please do so by the 4th June  by emailing and quoting the book title in the subject line.

The Gospel of Loki

by Joanne M Harris

Who we think will love this book: Fans of Norse Mythology, fans of anti-heroes, tricksters, loveable villians, fans of Loki, yes,that Loki.

Why we think you’ll love this book:  One word: LOKI. This is the story of the trickster god, told in his own voice with humour, heart and a little bit of roguish romance.

If you thought you knew the story of Loki, think again. With his notorious reputation for trickery and deception, and an ability to cause as many problems as he solves, Loki is a god like no other. This is the story that Odin doesn’t want you to read and one that you’ll never forget.

The countdown to Ragnarok begins here . . .

We have 20 review copies to giveaway, request yours now.

The Gospel of Loki is out now in paperback on 4th June and is also available in audio and ebook.

Crashing Heaven

by Al Robertson

Crashing Heaven by Al Robertson

Who we think will love this book: Fans of SF, SF thrillers, cyberpunk and  virtual ventriloquist’s dummies (we got your attention there, right?)

Why we think you’ll love this book: HUGO FIST. Trust us. Everyone will be talking about Hugo Fist.

Like your SF thrillers diamond-hard and visionary? Who doesn’t.Crashing Heaven is utterly unputdownable! Earth is abandoned, and humanity resides on Station, an industrialised asteroid run by the sentient corporations of the Pantheon. Under their leadership a war has been raging against the Totality – ex-Pantheon AIs gone rogue. With the war over, Jack Forster and his sidekick Hugo Fist, a virtual ventriloquist’s dummy tied to Jack’s mind and created to destroy the Totality, have returned home. . .

Meet Hugo Fist in the stunning first chapter of Crashing Heaven and request one of the 20 review copies we have to giveaway.

Pre-order the ebook for just £1.99! Only until 25th June 2015.

Crashing Heaven will also be out in trade paperback in June

 

 

S.N.U.F.F

by Victor Pelevin

SNUFF by Victor Pelevin

Who we think will love this book: Fans of literary SF, SF, post-apocalpytic fiction, satire and hard-hitting political novels.

Why we think you’ll love this book: Already a bestseller in Russia, this book will captivate you from the first page.

Damilola Karpov is a pilot. Living in Byzantium, a huge sky city floating above the land of Urkaine, he makes his living as a drone pilot who records the events unfolding in Urkaine or, with the weapons aboard his drone, by making a newsworthy event happen for his employers: ‘Big Byz Media’. His recordings are known as S.N.U.F.F.: Special Newsreel/Universal Feature Film.S.N.U.F.F. is a daring post-apocalyptic novel, exploring the conflict between the nation of Urkaine, its causes and its relationship with the city ‘Big Byz’ above.

Read the first chapters now and request your reading copy.

S.N.U.F.F is published in June in trade paperback and eBook.

The Whispering Swarm

by Michael Moorcock

The Whispering Swarm by Michael Moorcock

Who we think will love this book: Fans of SF and Fantasy and of Michael Moorcock.

Why we think you’ll love this book: This is Michael Moorcock’s first novel in nearly a decade. This calls for a happy dance!

The grand master of fantasy returns to London and the fantastical for his first independent novel in almost ten years! Michael Moorcock – the most influential figure in modern fantasy and science fiction – is back. London just after the war, is  a city desperately trying to get back on its feet. And one young boy, Michael Moorcock, is about to discover a world of magic and wonder. Between his first tentative approaches to adulthood – a job on Fleet Street, the first stirrings of his interest in writing – and a chance encounter with a mysterious Carmelite Friar, we see a version of Moorcock’s life that mixes elements of his real life with his adventures in a parallel London peopled with highwaywomen, musketeers and magicians.

Go on an adventure with Michael Moorcock

We have 20 review copies to giveaway, request yours now!

The Whispering Storm is published in July in trade paperback and ebook.

###

 

HarperCollins Publishers
30% off Collins Picture Atlas
SAVE 30% ON COLLINS PICTURE ATLAS AND WORLD MAP

GO ON A JOURNEY OF DISCOVERY AND MEET A WORLD FULL OF COLOURFUL CHARACTERS! SUITABLE FOR CHILDREN AGED 4-7.

LOOKING FOR YOUR NEXT CRIME FIX?

Get hooked on Heck and downloadHunted by Paul Finch

ONLY £1.99

READ MORE
Hunted, Peter Finch
START A NEW SERIES

With less than a month until The Liar’s Key comes out, now is the perfect chance to start this exciting series from one of fantasy’s greats.

Head to Facebook to be in with a chance of winning 1 of 50 copies of book one, Prince of Fools.

CLICK TO ENTER
Win a copy of Mark Lawrence's A Prince of Fools
THE ASSASSINATION OF MARGARET THATCHER

All that is clear and constant in these bracingly subversive stories is Hilary Mantle’s distinctive style and wit.

READ MORE
The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher by Hilary Mantel, out now in paperback
99P EBOOK OFFERS
The Journey, Josephine Cox
The Journey

by Josephine Cox

ONLY £0.99Ends 16th June

LEARN MORE
Dead Witch Walking, Kim Harrison
Dead Witch Walking

by Kim Harrison

ONLY £0.99Ends 16th June

LEARN MORE
The Ipcress File, Len Deighton
The Ipcress File

by Len Deighton

ONLY £0.99Ends 16th June

LEARN MORE
Churchill's Angels, Ruby Jackson
Churchill’s Angels

by Ruby Jackson

ONLY £0.99Ends 16th June

LEARN MORE

Related articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.